Madeleine Carruzzo


Violin | Orchestral auditions


Masterclass program

  • A Mozart concerto
  • A Romantic concerto
  • 4 orchestral excerpts from this list:

– R. Strauss – Don Juan
– Mendelssohn – Sommernachtstraum, Ouverture
– Schumann – 2. Symphonie, Scherzo
– Mozart – 39. Symphonie, Finale
– Bruckner – 9. Symphonie, 3. Satz
– Beethoven – 9. Symphonie, 3. Satz


Madeleine Carruzzo

Born in Sion, Madeleine Carruzzo studied at the Detmold Academy in Tibor Varga’s class.
In 1980, she obtained her concert degree with distinction.

From 1979 to 1981, she was Tibor Varga’s assistant. From 1978 to 1981 she was concertmaster of the Tibor Varga Chamber Orchestra.

In 1982 she became the first woman to be admitted as a regular member of the Berliner Philharmoniker, conducted by Herbert von Karajan.

She has taken part in numerous chamber music festivals, including those in Salzburg, Lockenhaus, Berlin and Jerusalem.

She has played chamber music with pianists Elena Bashkirova, Yefim Bronfman, Andràs Schiff, Radu Lupu, violinists Nikolaj Znaider and Renaud Capuçon, violists Nobuko Imai and Gérard Caussé, cellists Frans Helmerson and Boris Pergamenschikov, and flutist Emmanuel Pahud.

Madeleine Carruzzo won the Rünzi Foundation prize in 2001 and the Prix de la Ville de Sion in 2012.

Sion Academy Masterclass

15.07.2024 -> 18.07.2024 : Summer Academy Professors