Makedonissimo Quintet



The Makedonissimo Quintet – otherwise known as “Macedonissimo” – owes its origin to the pianist Simon Trpčeski. Fascinated by the musical traditions of his native land, the Macedonian artist decided to take up this beautiful folk material. Coming from a classical background, he contacted a number of ethnomusicologists to support his project and benefited from the support of the Marko Cepenkov Institute of Folklore and the Tanec Ensemble. From this scientific basis, he freely reappropriated the repertoire. The Macedonian composer Pande Shahov is the author of the arrangements performed by the quintet, halfway between classical techniques and traditional practices.


Simon Trpčeski, piano
Hidan Mamudov, clarinet, saxophone, kaval
Aleksandar Krapovski, violin
Alexander Somov, cello
Vlatko Nushev, percussion

Artist's website

Photo gallery